Oz Powerball
{{ entry_numbers.number }}
Please select draw date
Results No. of winners Prize per winner
{{draw_result_winner.name}} {{draw_result_winner.num_winners}} {{draw_result_winner.eur_value}} £ {{draw_result_winner.gbp_value}} € {{draw_result_winner.eur_value}} $ {{draw_result_winner.usd_value}}
There are no available results for this lottery.
Results Numbers Prize per book
{{draw_result_winner.name}} {{draw_result_winner.num_winners}} £ {{draw_result_winner.gbp_value}} € {{draw_result_winner.eur_value}} $ {{draw_result_winner.usd_value}}
There are no available results for this lottery.

History of Oz Powerball

The Australian Powerball’s first draw took place on 23 May 1996. This lottery was originally modelled on the American Powerball lottery and followed a very similar format. The game format was updated in 2013 to make it more attractive to players. It was then updated again in April 2018 to incorporate a different number set with an extra prize tier.

The game uses 2 separate ball barrels and players must choose 2 separate sets of numbers – standard numbers and the Powerball.

Oz Powerball record jackpots

The biggest jackpot prize won on the Australian Powerball is currently AUD$80 million.

This giant jackpot was shared between two ticket holders both from Australia. The jackpot was won on 30 July 2009 and, at the time was the biggest jackpot ever won in Australia, until it was surpassed by the Oz Lotto, which reached over AUD$100 million.

Changes implemented in March 2013 meant that the jackpot will increase in increments estimated at AUD$10 million once the jackpot has reached or passed the AUD$10 million mark.

Oz Powerball has a limit of 25 consecutive draws at which point, if the jackpot isn’t won, the funds will be awarded to the second prize tier.

How to play


  • Choose 7 numbers from a possible 35

  • Choose 1 number, called the “Powerball number” from a possible 20


To win the jackpot players need to match all 8 numbers drawn.


When to play


  • The Oz Powerball draw is held every Thursday in Melbourne at 20:30 (AEST) which is 10:45 (GMT)